Review of Bill Bryson’s ONE SUMMER

Although this book was published in 2013, I’m just getting around to it.  I had read The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid back at Christmas, then sent it on to my little brother who WAS the little boy growing up in the 1950’s.  He was kind enough to send me Bryson’s Road to Little Dribblings which was then on the best seller list to reciprocate.  I enjoyed both so much, I checked One Summer out of our Alvin library.

The book is the story of America during the summer of 1927, the year of Lucky Lindy’s trans-Atlantic flight.  It was also the beginning of Babe Ruth’s home run record which ended on the following September 30, 1927.  There are simply a plethora of interesting facts about that eventful summer, and Bryson includes them all.

Told in typical Bill Bryson’s style–humorous, detailed, and always readable–the book includes the “summer’s personalities” and exciting events. In places the writing and the events are “weird,” but isn’t that what we have come to expect from Bryson? One reviewer labelled the book, “narrative fiction of the highest order,” which it is, but above all, it is a darned good read.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

2 thoughts on “Review of Bill Bryson’s ONE SUMMER”

  1. I adore Bryson. My favorite has to be A Short History of Nearly Everything, which, of course, isn’t short and isn’t about everything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

