Sunday (Evening) Post

What I just finished: Daring Greatly by Bene’ Brown–perhaps the best self-help book I’ve ever encountered

What I’m still reading: Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue–a story of immigrants in America, a story of happy times and scary times

What I’ve started: The True American (Murder and Mystery in Texas) by Anand Giridharadas–required reading for a friend’s history class.  I am reading his copy which means it’s loaded with teaching notes, margin-marked insights and explanations of terms I don’t have to look up in a dictionary

What I’m going to read next: Three cozy mysteries a book buddy read then sent to me

What I want to see: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children–I have read the first three books, and I will go realizing the movie is adapted from or based on the novel(s)

This has been a great week, and the new one, starting tonight promises a fine week as well.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

2 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

  1. I’m so glad I’ve tracked down your blog! I tried the link WordPress gave me, but that was a complete deadend. So thank you for this link:). I have read your teaching record with awe – quite right that the rest of your colleagues get to pay your dues… I’ll be very interested to hear what you make of the film of ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’. I passed on the Netgalley arc, under the impression it was a horror novel involving children – a genre I avoid like the plague – and now need to play catchup.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your personalized comment, and thanks for following my blog. If you’ll scroll down to the beginning, you’ll see how this on-line group got resurrected from an old reading group spin off of AAUW (American Association of University Women), and a couple of posts up from there is a loooong (It’s not as long as it looks, I wrote it on a friend’s phone) post about our efforts to put up our Little Free Libraries and promote literacy in Alvin. You might recognize the name Debbie Nance from Readerbuzz. She’s the one that got me into “all of this–the LFL and the blogging world. It’s the nicest thing anyone’s ever done for me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

