Monday Morning Musings

In my reading of other blogger’s posts and visiting I did during my feeble attempt at the Dewey’s 24 Hour Marathon this past weekend, I came across one blogger’s meme/item called, “Where Did You Leave Your Bookmark?” (Apologies to the blogger for not writing down her blog address and giving her a “plug” here…)

Reading those words led me to think, “Where is my bookmark, LITERALLY?”  I am constantly losing them, passing them along to someone, bending them in half and making them unattractive and pretty unusable.  So that said, here are some things I frequently use as bookmarks:

  • library date due slips
  • receipts (hopefully only those for cash purposes, for my husband requires charged receipts to use to justify charges on our monthly bill.  He once found a $300 charge at a Sears store in Florida (We live in Texas and have not travelled to Florida) that took months to “straighten out”, but straighten out it did, and we got our $300 credit.
  • recipes (mostly clipped from newspapers conveniently close to where my library book lies)
  • gift book marks  (always welcome)
  • fronts of cards and notes received in the mail with cute kittens, lovely flowers or other pictures that make me smile, both at the picture and remembering the kind friend who sent the card/note

What, friend, are you using for a bookmark?  Do not be like an elderly friend I once had, who after her death, her executor was throwing out old, musty books from her enclosed back porch.  A younger friend of the woman stopped him and said, “Wait, we’d better rifle through the pages first.”  They did, and there was a $2 bill or several of them, a $1 here and there, and even a  few fivers that the dear, older friend had marked her place with!

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

13 thoughts on “Monday Morning Musings”

  1. I am so funny. It has to be a real bookmark. I have several Doctor Who ones and a few pretty metal hook ones. My favorite was one my Dad gave me that was attached to a Hallmark card. I used it until it fell apart. I also like ribbon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those metal ones tear pages! Ribbon is nice, especially if it has a dangle attached. My problem is that if a bookmark is especially nice or pretty or clever, I pass it along to a friend because I want them to appreciate or enjoy it as much as I do. I’m a chronic “giver-awayer”.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The best bookmarks are postcards – I have a store of them in my bedside cabinet for when I lose one and can immediately turn to another. Although these days, they are not so vital as I increasingly use my Kindle:).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I have a stack of postcards of the Old Alvin Hotel building which they tore down (in spite of my sixth graders’ campaign to prevent that from happening ) back in the mid to late 80’s. One is enough to put into my post card collection box(es); you have just given me a useful and helpful suggestion. Postcards are “stiff” enough to hold the place nicely and just the right size for either paperbacks or hand backs. Thanks, Friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s particularly good if you suffer at all with eyestrain, as you can alter the size of the font. And it also solves the problem of overflowing bookshelves and hauling a book around in your handbag:). I wouldn’t be without mine. Ebooks are generally cheaper, too…

        Like

  3. Usually I use a thick rubber band when I am reading at the library because my page opens easily. Sometimes I have used an emery board so I can “multi-task” while reading….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I keep a box near where I read full of old postcards and birthday cards and Valentines and clippings and actual bookmarks friends and family and students have given me over the years. It’s a happy feeling to see a name on a card from long ago and to use that card to mark my place.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

