Monday Morning Musings

Ok, ok, so it’s afternoon.  We all get a bit behind sometimes, and besides I just fixed the best spicy chicken, black beans, corn , onions, and green chilies tortilla roll-ups for lunch, using up leftover vegetables and giving us an early, well-deserved, healthy lunch.

What I’m musing about today is the fun I have stolen time for to spend on catching up on e-mails and mailings from the blogging world–especially all things bookish and Halloween. The trick or treaters coming tonight are always one of my favorite things of the year.  I love to see the little ones’ costumes with sometimes also dressed up mom and dad taking them into the neighborhood before it is even dark out.  We try to be one of the “good stops” with miniature candy bars, “Yes of course you should take two!” and Skittles, which are always crowd pleasers.  I even enjoy the junior highers who put blood (lots of blood) sweat, tears, and thought into their costumes.  Some will even sweet talk this old grandma-type into giving them more by saying, “Oh, lady you seem so nice; you remind me of my grandma!” Little manipulators!  They are so much fun and that age, and I remember teaching sixth, seventh, and eighth graders for the first twenty of my almost-fifty years of teaching.  I think of them  as my first loves.

Looking forward to reading:  Commonwealth by Ann Patchett.  I’ve read such diverse reviews.  I have it on hold at the library.  The Best We Could Do, a graphic memoir by Thi But, which I borrowed from a friend’s Little Free Library to read tonight. The morning Houston Chronicle, and several back issues from The New Yorker.  Except for the fiction stories each month, I’ve just about caught up with October’s issues and hope to get a start on November’s. I have the bad habit of wanting to read everything because I seem to get interested in everything.  And, after all…if it’s good enough to be published by The New Yorker…

Checked out from the library:  The Thoughtful Dresser, which I’m enjoying immensely and The Gentleman from Moscow, which I’ve admired the cover of and read ABOUT. It promises to be a very good read.

If I know what’s good for me, I’ll stop musing, clean up the kitchen, and unpack the candy for tonight.

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

6 thoughts on “Monday Morning Musings”

  1. I just read a hate-hate-hate review of Commonwealth from a blogger friend I met in Chicago at BEA last year. She was terribly disappointed with the writing and the plot and she complained there were too many characters. All valid points, I think, but I liked it nevertheless. Probably just because I got to meet the author. And because I’d just started and gave up on that awful Foer novel.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I miss getting trick or treaters – I live in an area of apartments, so we don’t get any around here. But my parents have moved to a small town, and they are just thrilled with all the little ones, and just love to load them up with chocolate and candies. I love getting little ones in costumes at the library, they’re too cute (though I never tell them that, especially when I know there trying to be scary monsters) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the cutest Little Mermaid–homemade get up with blue green sprayed french braid. Turned out the Mommy who did all the work used to be a girl scout who helped our AAUW group shop for Christmas gifts for needy families. The ladies and I would stand up front with the baskets and the girl scouts would “scout” out Walmart (sorry, I just couldn’t resist!) for the best toys, clothes and prices. We ladies would get some much needed visiting done, and the girls would be rewarded afterwards with Big Macs and french fries inside McDonald’s in Walmart. It was a good evening spent by all involved.

      Like

Leave a Reply

