Monday Morning Musings

Instead of doing escape reading this past week, I have been watching escape (or “mindless”, as I refer to it) TV.  And, you know, it’s not so bad.  I gave up on The Good Life when the plot became rather outrageous and the jokes a bit offensive, but several other series have caught my fancy, and fortunately, when they first premiered this season, I had the foresight to set them to “record series.”

Timeless, a time travel series, is one I really like.  My Cultural Historian friend would be appalled and spend the whole viewing time picking out inaccuracies, but I find the adventures suspenseful and the subplots that carry over from episode to episode engaging. What WOULD happen if we travelled back in time and changed some tiny detail?

Designated Survivor is also turning out to be a “bring you back next week” experience and has some of the best acting so far. Also, Speechless, a timely show about a family dealing with a severely disabled member, has some fine comedy actors as well.

Series I have followed since their inception include The big Bang Theory, Gray’s Anatomy and Scorpion.  The Big Bang always makes me laugh, and I have followed those lovable geniuses/nerds from high schoolers to responsible (?) adults.   Gray’s Anatomy has seen many changes over the thirteen or so years I have faithfully watched it, but new, interesting characters and new, interesting plots keep arriving.  The medical cases and miracles are not of as much interest to me as the interactions and relationships of the characters.  The writer is a genius and writes herself into corners only to get out of them in ways that have you saying, “I never saw that one coming!”   Scorpion is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat all hour, shouting, “Oh no!” at the TV, and “action packed”? The show invented the term.

Obviously, I have done very little reading this past week, except for the lovely Gentleman in Moscow, which I am drawing out to make it “last longer.” I did get about 2/3 into an insipid romance novel (Why I ever started it is a valid question) that showed up in my LFL which I thought I would like, and I finally put it back in the LFL for someone who will like it more.

Since I will be grading final papers starting Wednesday, I doubt I’ll do much other reading, so maybe I’ll watch more episodes of mindless TV until being ready to make a big stab at my TBR stack of books over Thanksgiving Holiday.

Happy reading (or watching, as the case may be).

 

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

7 thoughts on “Monday Morning Musings”

  1. We all have ways of escaping – and sometimes it isn’t reading. I’m not surprised that you’re taking refuge with the TV, given you’re spending chunks of your time marking and grading. Hope it all goes smoothly and in the meantime, enjoy your favourite programmes:)).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saw a taped Timeless episode tonight where they were in Germany during WWII and the sub plots really kicked in. The time travel team are starting to make their own demands and having to accept the consequences. I also watched the first episode of the season for The Odd Couple. I have followed the Odd Couple from a play to a movie to two different TV series. The concept of neat man, slob just has so many possibilities. Maybe there is some mindedness to mindless TV after all–enjoyment.

      Like

  2. I am enjoying Timeless too, more so now than I did at first actually. I had to let go of the part of me that was questioning the accuracy of the show, which was initially hard to do. 🙂 Designated Survivor is another one I follow as well. I haven’t seen Speechless, although I saw the preview before the show aired. I may have to make time to see it at some point. I just started watching the second season of Dark Matter, a science fiction show. I like it quite a bit. I watch way too much mindless TV sometimes. Oh well. I tell myself my brain needs it from time to time. Probably not at all true. Haha

    I hope you have a great week, Rae!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your reply and for the wishes for a good week. It is my birthday tomorrow, #72, and the birthday weekend has already begun. Somehow I missed out on Dark Matter; I will have to look into it! My brain needs a rest from paper grading! Mindless TV is the perfect answer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

