SUNDAY (EVENING) POST

Exhaustion is my new middle name.  I was so busy today having phone visits for my birthday (which isn’t until tomorrow) that I forgot my “grandson” was going to help me load a book onto my computer.  Now, neighbor, that’s too busy.

My birthday weekend started Friday with a card from my book buddy/husband’s cousin who included a check for $26.00, just the exact price to buy myself a hard back book of my choice.  What a thoughtful gift!  In the same day’s mail, a former student sent me a card, a postcard for my collection from Boston which she recently visited, and a tote with a map of the “original” city of Boston.  It even is waterproofed and snaps shut.  My husband of 52 years led our Sunday School class in singing Happy Birthday to me and two others who have birthdays this week, and I especially liked the “And many mo ore…” they added to the end of the song.  There were several cards and special gifts from friends some of whom I’ve known for 30 or more years. My dear husband made a trip to Kroger’s (a gift in itself) to do the weekly shopping, and he brought home my favorite cake–white cake with white coconut frosting–which we had for supper along with a huge glass of milk.  There’s enough cake for breakfast and several times tomorrow, the actual birthday, and half a cake left to freeze.

All of a sudden I feel “loved and adored” which was the “angel message” a popular blogger posted on her blog today.  I also feel blessed, beyond compare or deserving.  Thanks to everyone who has already started my BD rolling.  It is not eight o’clock, and I think I’ll read until (early) bedtime!

God bless.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

10 thoughts on “SUNDAY (EVENING) POST”

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry that I got to this so late – but unfortunately I’ve been busy fighting off a cold this last week, so haven’t been online quite as much as usual. Happy Birthday and what a lovely one:)). I love it that you had the Sunday School singing Happy Birthday to you. The cake sounds seriously yummy, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

