TUESDAY TEASER

Open what you’re reading now, pick a random couple of sentences and post them (scroll way down until you see the words “Leave a Reply” and enter your sentences, title and author in the box) as your Tuesday Teaser to tempt us to add your book to our TBR list. Here’s mine from The Bone People, truly a classic by Keri Hulme, the 1985 winner of the Booker Prize:

A father holding his son in his arms says, “You are still too thin, but you”ve always been slight ..and it’s been better since Kerewin (the female protagonist) arrived. Well, not so much arrived as you discovered her…I wonder what she really thinks of us.”

This is one of the strangest books I’ve ever read–both horrible and beautiful at the same time.  I am only on page 172 out of 437 pages, but I am anticipating the ending with awe and almost fear.  It is a strong book dealing with a strong issue and peopled by strong characters.  Anything could happen.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

9 thoughts on “TUESDAY TEASER”

  1. From Letters of Note, Vol. 2:

    Husband Until Death
    Abream Scriven to His Wife

    Savannah Sept the 19, 1858

    Dinah Jones

    My Dear Wife

    I take the pleasure of writing you these few lines with much regret to inform you that I am Sold to a man by the name of Peterson a treader and Stays in New Orleans. I am here yet But I expect to go before long but when I get there I will write and let you know where I am. My Dear I want to Send you Some things but I donot know who to Send them By but I will try to get them to you and my children. Give my love to my father & mother and tell them good Bye for me and if we Shall not meet in this world I hope to meet in heaven. My Dear wif for you and my Children my pen cannot Express the griffe I feel to be parted from you all. I remain your truly
    Husband until death
    Abream Scriven

    Liked by 2 people

  2. From “The Incarnations” by Susan Barker.

    One of the main characters is a taxi driver in China. “In nearly a decade he has stolen only one thing: a self-assembly kite in a box, the frame slotting together to make a magnificent dragon with a one-metre wingspan. Wang saw the forgotten kite in the back seat…That weekend Wang and Echo (his daughter) flew the kite together in Chaoyang Park, the crimson dragon fluttering its tail as it darted over the lakes and trees. As he watched Echo that day, smiling and gazing up to the kite in the sky, Wang thought of the old man’s kite and tried not to feel bad. What’s the good of one person clinging to his morals when everyone else is so corrupt? What’s the good of that?”

    I’m only 25 pages in and already quite swept up in the story. It promises to be quite a ride! I got it for my son for Christmas and then promptly went to the library and got myself a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gary Pegoda sent in this Tuesday Teaser from The Nine Tailors by Dorothy Sayers:
    “Very proper indeed, ma’am. Now tell me whether on any occasion when you visited the graves, the wreaths presented the appearance of having been disturbed or the earth shifted about, or anything of that kind?”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

