Monday Morning Musings

It’s 11:30 am, so technically, it’s still morning.  Because New Year’s Day fell on a Sunday, a day off anyway, many businesses etc. are taking today off as their New Year’s holiday.  Public school is waiting until tomorrow, and the post office was dark when I went by earlier, so I guess there’s no mail delivery either.  The Tournament of Roses Parade is on TV as I type (There is some kind of “rule” that will not allow them to hold it on a Sunday.), so today is a quasi-holiday of sorts.

Today is a good day to reflect on the year past and plan for the year ahead. Going to that “hermitage inside you” as one blogger phrased it to “take stock” is my intention.  Miriam Webster’s defines “hermitage” as “a secluded residence,” a “private retreat”, a “hideaway.” In this New Year, it is good to go there and take stock, make resolutions, resolve and promise oneself to “do better,” be kinder, be more grateful. For myself, I am going to pick a random person and plan some small act of kindness.  There is no way I could ever repay or even acknowledge the acts of kindness friends (and sometimes total strangers) have done for me, so I dedicate this random act of kindness to a random person, to all of them.

May the New Year be a new start and the beginning of a new attitude in me.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

