SUNDAY (EVENING) POST

Happy New Year!  No resolutions, no regrets, no promises to keep, just a recap of the week’s reading and viewing:

What I finished this past week: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett, reviewed in the post immediately preceding this one and Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin–two books tied for second place on my “Best Books Published in 2016 That I Read” List.  First place went to Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles.  Look for a review of Swans soon.

Currently Reading: Coming of Age in Mississippi, The Jealous Heart, The Bone People, all novels; and.The Sunday Edition of the Houston Chronicle.

Just Started: Max the Mighty, a YA novel that promises to be a quick but interesting read.

Watched:    Film: The BFG (Big Friendly Giant) a DVD, Christmas present from my brother.

TV: The “Scorpion” Thanksgiving episode (suspenseful as usual); “Poldark” season finale on PBS; “Masterpiece Classic” on PBS, three episodes of this season’s “Indian Summer;” “Gray’s Anatomy” season finale (finished up, was interrupted the previous week), what a cliffhanger!

Accomplished:  All Christmas decorations taken down and packed away for another year and caught up on my correspondence.

I am looking forward to 2017 as a good year optimistic that things, if they change, will change for the better. I hope that you readers will continue to stop by or consider following this blog in the coming year.

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

2 thoughts on “SUNDAY (EVENING) POST”

  1. And a very happy 2017 to you, Rae:). I’m looking forward to the new year with more hope and excitement than I’d have thought possible only just over a week ago – how quickly things can change. Your reading list, as ever, sounds fascinating – how are you getting on with Max the Mighty? I did see it on the NetGalley dashboard but gave it a miss. I enjoyed the BFG book, but haven’t yet caught up with the film – I hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not far enough in Max the Mighty, and a little concerned about the “kidnapping” aspect, but am hoping everything will turn out all right. BFG (I didn’t read the book.) was a bit disappointing as a film. I guess the raves were due to all the special effects etc. It was hyped to be better than it was, in my opinion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

