Sunday (Evening) Post

What I finished this past week: Since I was working on my kid’s class most of my waking hours this past week, I did not read as much as usual, but I did start and finish (in two days) The Book That Matters Most: A Novel by Ann Hood.  I will review it here soon.

What I Am Continuing to Read: Coming of Age in Mississippi (The protagonist has come as far as college and the  Jim Crow South is feeling stirrings of discontent.), The Bone People (The person who told me about this book warned that it “dragged a bit towards the middle; well, I have hit the middle.), Max the Mighty (A YA book that I am anxious to finish and put out in my Little Free Library).

What I Have Started: A wonderful picture book for adults, All Black Cats Are Not Alike, by Amy Goldwasser and Peter Arkle .

What I Watched: “Timeless” (the episode about Benedict Arnold which ends with the main heroine captured by the bad (?) guy), two episodes of “Speechless” (always enjoyable), the latest episode of “The Big Bang Theory”, and the season opener of “To Tell the Truth.”

I know that next week I won’t have, or even find, more time to read, but I resolve to MAKE time.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

6 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

    1. Today started off really well! Went to the foot and ankle surgeon today and asked for a steroid shot in my right foot (bone on bone arthritis) and he also agreed to give me a shot in my left foot as well. It’s a miracle! I can walk without screwed up sourpuss face from the pain. I felt so good, we stopped at a favorite Mexican restaurant in a small town on the way back from the doctor’s. Surprisingly, today’s shot was five months (to the day) from the last shot, so the doctor and I were both pleased to get that kind of relief. It was a good day! If the rest of the week is as good, I will be sooooo thankful! I hope your week is everything you wish it to be.
      I did get some reading in and that was another plus.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m off to a good start–relief from a much needed source and did some reading as well. I did miss making my Monday Morning Musings post, though. Since we were traveling to the doctor, we got up early and all I was left to muse on was the going-to-work-traffic. Oh well, tomorrow is Tuesday, and since I am reading, I’ll have a teaser.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

