HOW SWEET THE SOUND: A REVIEW

I messed up and missed the Monday Morning Musings post (again) so how about a review of a book I finished up late last night instead?

It is a Christian fiction book from my church library by Amy Sorrell published in 2014.  My librarian recommended it and said several women in the church had “loved it.”  I don’t usually read Christian fiction.  I sometimes feel it lacking in depth and overeager to present the “message” which is important but many times just “preaching to the choir.”

In order to give a fair review, I’m going to answer some prescribed questions I found on a website for reviewers:

What was the setting?  This novel was set in the deep South on a pecan farmer’s “spread”, which I found stereotyped and dated.  I like pecans and the descriptions of the orchards were lovely, but the “pecans” were sugared and didn’t make believable reading.

How was the plot? “tricky?” intricate? sweeping?       In a word, “predictable.”

Who was your favorite character?  Vaughn, the grandfather of Anniston, the main character.  He was the savior of Pricilla, his wife, the “fair one” when it came to parenting his children, and the “wise one”when it came to teenage angst.

How were the relationships in the book?  The author set up some relationships that were interesting and promising, but the working out of the same was, again, “predictable.”

Would you follow the characters in another book?  Definitely not.  I formed no attachments to them.

Did you stay up late to finish?  No, I  used the book to put me to sleep when I was tired.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

4 thoughts on “HOW SWEET THE SOUND: A REVIEW”

      1. They would be disgusted with me, then! I have no compunction in abandoning a book if it doesn’t appeal – there are too many other awesome books for me to read and far too little time:).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

