MONDAY MORNING MUSINGS(on Wednesday)

Monday morning fell on a Wednesday this morning, primarily because my total thoughts, actions and life has been busy thinking about and preparing for My Better Half’s birthday yesterday.  It was a celebration for two, but involved cooking his favorite meal and was full of many gifts and greetings from family and friends.

Again I’ve been browsing through my old Graduate School poetry anthology, and tucked into the back was a folded piece of paper, an old essay test.  It consisted of one question, “What is Poetry?” As was my habit many times on compositions, I turned the theme into something I thought the professor would pause over and wrote the following:

What Poetry Is Not

Poetry is not “an expression of pure emotion,” a definition I learned in high school. It does deal with emotion…sometimes. It is not the beautiful statement of some high truth. Instead, it is that truth itself–with decorations.  It is not always fine sentiments in fine language, but sometimes lowdown sentiments expressed in gutter language.  Poetry is not something separate from ordinary life.  What “makes” it poetry  is not separate from the busyness of living.The matters with which poetry concerns itself are what matters to ordinary people. Poetry is not just a bundle of things poetic in themselves, a list of “My Favorite Things, Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…” Part of what makes a poem a poem is what holds these things together in a meaningful relationship as opposed to a collection of pleasing items. On the other hand, poetry is not just a group of mechanically combined elements…meter, rhyme, figurative language, etc.  The relationship among these elements is important.  They must work together to impart a specific impression, feeling, sense of things to the reader.

The poet makes the “familiar strange and the strange familiar.” Perhaps with John Ciardi, our textbook author, we should ask not, WHAT does a poem mean, but HOW does a poem mean? How does it go about being a human re-enactment of a human experience?  A poem  is an expression of a moment of pure realization of being that brings to the reader in a vivid way some scene or sensation…but it is more than that. Almost always a writer conveys information, but he conveys an attitude toward and a feeling about that information.  The poet becomes the translator  and the transmitter of experience to others. By choosing and shaping words, by selecting and presenting images, the poet forms the verbal object that captures and imparts his contact/confrontation with Nature/God/Reality.  The poem itself exists as a bridge between the reader and the Cosmos.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

5 thoughts on “MONDAY MORNING MUSINGS(on Wednesday)”

  1. Yes! It is a great question and one I regularly get asked in my Creative Writing classes – what makes a poem. ‘It doesn’t rhyme, so I don’t think this is a poem…’ is another regular comment I hear. Which is when I can then demonstrate, using the piece of work in front of me what it is that DOES make it a poem. And you’re right it’s as often about the HOW as much as the WHAT:)).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The How as well as the what is John Ciardi’s idea, not mine, but I agree with him completely. I have taken several poetry theory classes at the graduate level, but can not write poetry (a limerick, haiku, or chinquapin, here or there, but my only attempt at a birthday/nature poem was for my Mother many years ago. She said it sounded like a Helen Steiner Rice card. She meant it as praise, but to me it was an insult! Ha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do write the odd poem when it won’t leave me alone – it’s a difficult thing to do. But I do think it comes in two stages – a bit like writing a book. You have to slam it down onto the page and then go back and tweak, refine and redraft, a process that can take a very long time. Or no time at all, depending on how successful that first draft was:).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “When it won’t leave me alone” is the key, here. Although certain papers on certain topics (research into some issue or literary aspect or some thoughts/ideas I want to “share”) won’t leave me alone until I write them, I’ve never had the same impulse toward getting a poem out. I guess the only poems I’ve written were for assignments or for trying just to see if I could, and they’ve all been failures (to me anyway). My junior year in undergrad school, I won a haiku contest, but probably it was the least bad–the poor prof didn’t have much to work with! I’ve never actually taken a class to learn how to write poetry, but I don’t know if that can even be taught.

    Like

Leave a Reply

