Some Miscellaneous Quotes About Writing

These quotes really resonated with me.  I hope you will enjoy them too.  They are not arranged in any particular order.

“Writing is a kind of revenge against circumstances too: bad luck, loss, pain.  If you make something out of it, then you’ve no longer been bested by these events.”    Louise Gluck (author and poet, born 1943)

From my text in my Advanced Writing Class On Writing Well 31st anniversary edition by William Zinsser: “[This] thing is true of writers.  Sell yourself and your subject will exert its own appeal.  Believe in your own identity and your own opinions.  Writing is an act of ego, and you might as well admit it.  Use its energy to keep yourself going.” p.23

“I express myself with my friends and family.  Novels are not about expressing oneself, they’re about something beautiful, funny, clever and organic.  Self expression? Go and ring a bell in the yard if you want to express yourself.” Novelist Zadie Smith

“Good writing is always about things that are important to you, things that are scary to you, things that eat you up.” John Edgar Wideman, writer

“Writers are driven by compulsion to put some part of themselves on paper…” Zinsser

Contrasting views? Yes.  Conflicting ones? Maybe not.  Thoughts?

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

5 thoughts on “Some Miscellaneous Quotes About Writing”

  1. I think it all depends on the writer. Some writers’ own feelings and ideas come out very strongly in their work – others, not so much… It’s a highly personal thing and deeply bound up with their particular creative processes and what drives them to write, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

