Sunday (Evening) Post

This has been a strange weather day.  The tree pollen has us trapped inside with “seasonal” allergies, the temperature is in the mid to high seventies, and it is overcast and dreary with storms predicted for late tonight and tomorrow (around going to school time, naturally). However, it is the perfect day/evening  for reading and for the Sunday Houston Chronicle,  which I have read from “cover to cover.”

What I have finished this last week:

Paper Hero by Leon Hale, reviewed in “Recent Reads” the other day and The Lowlands,same review.

What I am continuing to read:

Racing in the Rain, which I’ve had to set aside to finish borrowed library books; the same for Girl in Translation. Gee, I hope I don’t have to read  too much over again when I do pick these up again!

Started and almost finished: Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk by Kathleen Rooney, checked out from the library after I saw it on a friend’s blog, Readerbuzz.  I am really “into” it, perhaps because it is one of the few books where the protagonist/heroine is older than I am.

Looking forward to reading:

Church of the Dog recommended by a friend who works at the library in Alvin. I suspect either it’s told from the Dog’s point of view (like Racing in the Rain) or somebody’s dyslexic. She was busy and didn’t say.

James Lee Burke’s Dixie City Jam, sent by a book buddy relative in North Carolina when I told her how much I had enjoyed Wayfaring Stranger and Jealous Heart. She had been reading  this one and sent it as soon as she had enough books she’d read to “fill a box.”

So, I have lots to read and lots to do as we approach mid-term and the start of another round of the Kid’s class, then mercifully, Spring Break.  My Better Half has taxes to look forward to, and with his help, I intend to work in the yard.  Tomorrow’s rains ought to soak in the fertilizer I sprinkled around today, then there’s hope for sunshine the rest of the week to make the plants bloom and grow.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

3 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

  1. It sounds like a busy and varied reading week as usual, Rae. Wow… given our dreary winter weather with another cold wet spell forecast, temperatures in the 70s seem unimaginable. Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk is a book I’ve heard a lot about – glad you’ve enjoyed it. I hope you have another busy, fulfilling week:).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

