Quotes About Reading

Not too long ago, I included on this blog my favorite quotes about writing.  Today, I offer some of my favorites on reading:

“But do not read, as children read, for fun, or like the ambitious read, for training purposes.  No, read for your life.”      Gustave Flaubert, author of Madame Bovary, in a letter to a friend.

The habit of reading, I make bold to tell you , is your pass to the greatest, the purest, and the most perfect of pleasure that God has prepared for His creatures.  It lasts when all other pleasures fade.  It will support you when all other recreations are gone. It will last until your death.  It will make your hours pleasant to you as long as you live.” Anthony Trollope, Victorian novelist (1815-1882).

And, a couple of more modern ones:

“One must be careful of books, and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” Cassandra Clare (author)

“Only a generation of readers will spawn a generation of writers.”     Steven Spielberg

Add your favorite(s) to the comment section that follows.

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

5 thoughts on “Quotes About Reading”

  1. “We read to know we’re not alone.”
    ― William Nicholson, Shadowlands

    “I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.”
    ― Jorge Luis Borges

    “You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.”
    ― Madeleine L’Engle

    “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”
    ― Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

    “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
    ― C.S. Lewis

    “I have never listened to anyone who criticized my taste in space travel, sideshows or gorillas. When this occurs, I pack up my dinosaurs and leave the room.”
    ― Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing

    “A wise reader reads the book of genius not with his heart, not so much with his brain, but with his spine. It is there that occurs the telltale tingle…”
    ― Vladimir Nabokov

    “Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.”
    ― Joyce Carol Oates

    “Language is like a cracked kettle on which we beat out tunes for bears to dance to, while all the time we long to move the stars to pity.”
    ― Gustave Flaubert, Madame Bovary

    “It’s the secret we never, ever tell our children. No adult ever read a book because it’s good for us. We read because it is fun.”
    ― Jacqueline French

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a wonderful set of quotes. I promise to copy them in my quotes book I keep by my bed and read through, skipping, hitting, and missing when I need to be uplifted or encouraged. These are also some I’ve never seen before. TY a kazillion times!

      Like

Leave a Reply

