SUNDAY (EVENING) POST

For someone “laid up” for two weeks, this has been a very busy week. At least while sitting, keeping my feet up, I’ve had time for reading.

Finished last week: Girl in Translation, reviewed Saturday; Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott, to be reviewed soon

Watched on TV:  Not much

What I did:  Wednesday of last week, my writing class was taught by “Jack,” a British actor who was visiting the university to perform three of the twenty-two roles in Romeo and Juliet this weekend.  The students had a great time; I was able to sit with my feet propped up, and thus, had a great time; and Jack had a good time as well.

I had two scheduled “treatments” for plantar fasciitis at the local chiropractic clinic who often provide treatments for all kinds of pain and injuries, right here in our little town.  What a blessing not to have to travel to Houston. Because of these treatments, staying completely off my feet, and the prayers of friends, I am showing marked improvement.

Saturday, my AAUW group (ten women attended) came to my house for its monthly meeting.  This was scheduled back in August, but was a real blessing because I wouldn’t have been able to make it if I had to leave the house. We had a make-shift but inspiring program, an informative business meeting, and lots of catching and up and fellowship  while eating pasta salad (provided by a member) garden salad, a relish tray (my contributions) and chips and dip, poppy seed, lemon muffins, coffee doughnuts (provided by members).  I had agreed to provide the place, coffee and tea and had a good time designing a centerpiece and playing hostess while the ladies took over my kitchen and even handled the clean up afterwards.  It was a stress-free afternoon.  It was so good to see friends and have them fuss over me!

Looking forward to reading this week: Finishing Freeks–I’m about half way through; and I have started The Runaways, another immigrant story.

This week should find me completely healed and maybe doing a little driving around town.  I have a treatment on my feet Wednesday, but no big plans for Spring Break (March 13-17) except to catch up and plan and prepare for the rest of the school semester.

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

3 thoughts on “SUNDAY (EVENING) POST”

  1. Well… I’m glad that’s your idea of a rest – because mine involves a lot more lying down and less people-managing, etc! I’m delighted that you are on the mend – but could I just advise that you DON’T necessarily jump in the car unless your feet are absolutely pain free? And I hope you can also squeeze in a bit of rest during your Spring break, Rae:). Have a much better week!x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh thank you! Two good friends have been involved in nasty traffic accidents, recently. Neither were hurt and neither were at fault, but that didn’t stop them being very shocked and banged about. And in both cases their cars were written off…:(.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

