Sunday (Evening) Post

I missed posting the Sunday Evening Post last week, so this week’s post will reflect two weeks worth of reading and watching.

What I finished since last post:  Freeks by Amanda Hocking and The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein, both reviewed under “Recent Reads” a short time ago. Both Sunday editions of The Houston Chronicle (practically cover to cover).

Continuing to Read: Who Said I Was Up for Adoption?  by Colin Chappell, a blogging friend, told in alternate chapters from dog owner’s/dog’s point of view. Also The Fire by Night by Teresa Messineo, a story of allied nurses in WWII.

Have begun Ayn Rand’s Anthem, a novel of the future written while she was writing The Fountainhead.          

Watched on TV:  Two excellent episodes of PBS’s “Victoria,” two episodes of “Bull,” two episodes of “Superior Doughnuts” a really funny 30 min. comedy (new this season), Rick Steve’s visit to Paris on “The Best of Rick Steve’s Europe” on PBS,and one episode of “Gray’s Anatomy.”

I am really looking forward to starting: Joyful Journey, a friend’s autobiography which she signed and gave away to about forty friends yesterday, complete with coffee and dessert–a lovely afternoon, and Who Is Human? a novel about a computer that attempts to answer that question, available on Kindle, by Gary Pegoda, a long-time friend.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

6 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

  1. You have a very wide and eclectic taste in books Rae, that I find really admirable:). I’ve been watching the new series of ‘Vera’ and thoroughly enjoyed ‘Dinosaur 13’, though was aghast at the injustice of what happened… I’m very much into the documentaries shown on BBC4, particularly the history programmes which are excellent, especially the ones shown late at night. Have a great week, Rae.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My week is off to a roaring start and it’s just 6:00p.m. Monday. Have been cooking, delivering food to sick and elderly friends, taking flowers from my yard to other friends, plus running my own errands now that My Better Half is spending his afternoons after school working on taxes. Whew! Am exhausted…think I will read for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My goodness! That does sound exhausting – hope you’re not overdoing it, Rae. I’m still recovering from the huge hiccup in my sleep patterns after Himself is now wearing a mask and the snoring is a thing of the past. Odd that it has wreaked havoc on my sleep when I’ve longed for such an outcome for years…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. After a night with little to no sleep (probably from overdoing and being too tired to fall asleep) I was the one who was fearful of waking my snoring husband. I was up and down and finally got up and cooked (and froze) for therapy. It helped, for although I am sleep deprived, I am relaxed. I did cancel all driving for the day–not safe in my “condition” which involved rescheduling a hair-do and meeting a friend for lunch in a nearby town. Both friends were willing to “work with me.” I have good friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

