Sunday (Evening) Post

This has been a busy, event-filled week, complete with visits with and from friends, school planning and grading which took up a good part of the week, and a few pensive, quiet moments–some provided by reading blogs from the friends I am following.

And still I managed to do some reading.

Finished last week: Girl Stolen by April Henry, an action-packed YA novel provided by a student who had purchased the book and recommended it to me. It is now in my LFL (Little Free Library) waiting to be read by yet another reader. Also The Fire by Night by Teresa Messino, a gripping, sometimes graphic novel about the horrors of WWII and the nurses who saved lives at, and sometimes behind, the front.  It will be reviewed here in the next few days.

 

Continuing to read: Who Said I Was Up for Adoption? by Colin Chappell, a blogging friend who has made his excellent book available on Kindle.  The more books I attempt on Kindle, the more I enjoy reading in this medium. I am so close to finishing that I am sure I will be reviewing the book sometime this coming week.  Feeling I hadn’t read any non-fiction in a long time, and feeling the need to do so, I…

…began this week: Beyond Human Nature:  How Culture and Experience Shape the Human Mind.  At first it was heavy going, but once I “got into it” and reminded myself I had once studied the basic philosophers reviewed in the first chapter and that I had read many a student paper on “Nature vs. Nurture,” I found my way and can honestly say I’m enjoying stretching my mind a bit and finding it good reading.  It is by Jesse J Prinz. Heads up, Dr. P , when this one is finished, I will donate it to the “AJP Library.” I also began Big Magic, by the author of Eat, Pray, Love  which reminds me somewhat of Brene Brown’s books.  I like that I am able to apply what I read to my daily life.

I am still looking forward to my friends’ books, Joyful Journey, an autobiography, and Who is Human?, friend Gary Pegoda’s exploration into artificial intelligence and sci fi at its best.  Surely I’ll find time this coming week to start them both.

What I have watched:  In a word, lots of “mindless TV,” but it was most enjoyable.  I  viewed the finale of “Victoria” on PBS, which was superb as well as “Superior Doughnuts,” a delightful sitcom and the ever-popular, ever-entertaining “Big Bang”.  “Shots Fired”, the pilot of a series promises to be a serious, deep drama, which includes a role for Helen Hunt of “Closer” fame. Last week “Rick Steves’ Europe” took us to Paris; this week we toured Provence. IF I finish grading essays today, I hope to watch a movie.  It feels like it has been a long time, and several people have recommended ones I think I would really enjoy.

Today is almost gone, but I am trying to schedule lightly tomorrow and for the coming days, so I can get some reading done.  Wish me luck!

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

6 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

  1. There are a lot of reasons I read on my Kindle. I like to read on it when the nightlight disturbs others. I like to read on it when I’m traveling and I don’t want to carry lots of books. I like to read books I bought because I know I’ll read over and over my Kindle. You don’t have to wait for a Kindle book. I’m glad you are using yours sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t gotten far enough into Big Magic yet to judge it. I was NO FAN of Eat, Pray, Love and was almost turned off by it, but this book is about Creativity, something I’m really interested in. I am hoping the author will answer my question about it: Can creativity be taught? What are your thoughts as a creative writing and poetry writing teacher?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I tried Eat, Pray, Love but couldn’t get on with it, though I LOVED The Signature of All Things. And yes – this book is one I want to read. No… I don’t think you can teach Creativity – you can ENCOURAGE and NURTURE it and you can certainly improve writing skills by a huge factor by simply teaching the craft. But some folks just ping off the page and other… don’t.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you’ve nailed it! Of course, it doesn’t hurt that I agree with you on the question of whether creativity can or can’t be taught. Like you, I think it can be nurtured and encouraged, but either you have the “seed” or you don’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

