Friday Tag–I’m IT

While reading my daily “fix” of a friend, James J. Cudney’s blog ,This is My Truth Now, (really worth checking out), I came across a “tag” or challenge put out by the blog Always Trust In Books.  In it there were 20 quick questions to answer about your blog.  I do not have the time or inclination to answer all 20 questions, but I thought it might be fun to address a few of them and give followers and readers some insights into Powerful Women Readers.

What were the last three books you read?

Memoirs of a Geisha, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, both book club selections, and The Education of Dixie Dupree. The last is a debut novel I’d read a review on, and debut novels fascinate me; I guess it’s because I’ve always heard the saying, “Everyone has one novel inside them.”

Spoilers or No Spoilers?  Nothing spoils a good book or a good movie for me, even if someone gives away the ending, especially if I am appreciating the good writing as I read, but I would NEVER skip to the end and actually read the ending of a book.  That’s UNTHINKABLE!

How long have you been blogging? A year and two months

The last book you read in one sitting  I’m going to cheat and choose a children’s book, Tadpole’s Promise by Jeanne Willis

Favorite genre   I’ll read anything; I like all genres if the characters are well developed and the writing is good

DNF (Did Not Finish) The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood, not because it was not good but because I got caught in the rush of the school semester and had to return it to the library 

Approximate number of books read per month   Depends on the month and the position I’m in in the school semester      I usually read at least two books a week and seldom more than four.  This is hard to estimate because I have three or even four books going at once.

Music or quiet when reading?  Definitely quiet

Favorite blogging position    Sitting on the bed, propped up by firm pillows with the laptop braced against my drawn-up knees

Are you a professional blogger  Absolutely not.  I would not enjoy getting a free book in return for a “fair review.”  I do not blog about (or even enter into my reading log) books I did not like.  Books I review are only ones I think have merit or I have enjoyed and want to “tell” someone about them.

Best piece of advice for starting-out bloggers  Have fun!

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

10 thoughts on “Friday Tag–I’m IT”

  1. Congratulations on a great first tag post! And you chose a bit of a difficult one, too. Fun… even with the lil’ bit o’ cheatin’ you pointed out. I thought you’d been blogging for much longer. My favorite part is learning people’s way of reading, e.g. in bed or the couch, physical or electronic, reading or listening. Nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I laughed out loud when you said you’d thought I’d been blogging longer. I never evan hear of blogging, bloggers, or the blogging experience/world until I started reading and following my friend, Deb Nance’s Readerbuzz and became addicted. When the light dawned on me that “I could do that” (though not to her ability and technological skills!) I tried it out, and the rest is history! Thank YOU for becoming part of that history.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I take that as high praise from someone whose blog is as faithful and clever as yours. Thanks for reading my “nonsense” in spite of our age difference! It just proves you are an open-minded young person, my favorite kind! Also thanks for all the times you allowed me to “pick your brain.” That has been enormously helpful in teaching.

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading this, Rae:). Gosh – I hadn’t realised that you read books off your laptop… Presumably your eyes don’t get tired from the background glare? Like you, I rarely get the chance to sit down and devour a whole book in a single session other than a children’s book – the big exception being recently when I was smitten… Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. And there YOU are my faithful friend. Thank you for your kind comments and for all the good kindle recommendations which I read, yes, on my laptop. My friend/”grandson” is after me to get a kindle. What is the advantage?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are three advantages to having a kindle – firstly, it’s a lot lighter and easier to read in bed; secondly, the electronic ink they bang on about really cuts down your eye strain – I also love the fact you can increase/decrease the size of the font, which I know you can do on a computer, but this is a lot quicker and easier; thirdly, I spend hours working on my computer during the day so that last thing I want to do is use it when relaxing. Hope that helps, Rae – have a great reading week whatever device you’re using:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

