THURSDAY THOUGHTS

This was a short piece, a narrative I wrote in undergraduate school.  I found it when clearing out an old file folder, and thought it might be worth sharing.

We had taken inventory at Woolworth’s that night, and I was late coming home from work.  I dragged myself upstairs, prepared to face high school homework, and tiptoed through the room where my twelve year old brother was sleeping  and into my own attic bedroom.  Dad had divided the attic between us and had done a good job converting it to bedrooms. The paint on the walls was battleship grey, appropriated from the Naval Base, and the door between our rooms was a few inches too short for the frame, allowing heat from the register to heat both rooms.

I lay down to sleep and was immediately startled by a rustling noise that sounded like crumpled paper scratching across the linoleum.  The noise seemed to be coming from under the bed!  I had been terrified about the idea of mice ever since at the age of nine, one had tried to make a nest in my long hair in this very room. Turning on the bedside light, I searched quickly, not really wanting to find anything. My heart sickened as I lay down and turned out the light again when the noise resumed. This time I leaped far clear of the bed, unfolded the double bed spread on the twin bed, and kneeling peered under the bed itself.  I almost had my nose snipped off by an old snapping turtle!  MICHAEL MARION MASON, I yelled at my brother, come get your snapping turtle out from under my bed!

Mother said she heard us both barrel down the stairs, then Mike with no explanation to anyone, opened the side door and threw something frisbee-shaped out.  Poor me.  Poor turtle. Poor confused parents. Lucky Mike, for he received no punishment.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

4 thoughts on “THURSDAY THOUGHTS”

  1. Oh my goodness! While I’d also have a problem with a turtle under the bed – the thought of the mice nesting in your hair makes my skin crawl as I’m TERRIFIED of rodents… Great post, Rae:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TY! As a nine year old, the mother mouse trying to nest while I was asleep was very traumatic. I screamed for my daddy, and he came charging up the stairs in his skivvies, turning on the light to reveal a very pregnant mouse clinging to the venetian blind. I did not return to the attic bedroom until I was twelve. I slept on a daybed downstairs until my dad could finish off the unfinished part of the attic, then my brother and I both had our own rooms “upstairs.” My dad built chest of drawers into the sloping crawl space behind the wall. He could figure any “project” out. I remember my parents bought me twin beds so I could have my cousin and other friends sleep over. I thought I was “hot stuff” with the brown and yellow patterned, fabric headboards and the yellow and white patterned linoleum floors. Easy to clean and “cool” at the time. It was my bedroom until we moved when I was nineteen, five months before I married and left home.

      Like

Leave a Reply

