Sunday (Evening) Post

It is back to reading, coming with a few rainy days in a row.  I had about finished up several books, so this past few days, I have started a few “new” ones. Striving to work some non-fiction into my reading, my “grandson” loaned me a very readable non-fiction work by Luis Alberto Urrea, The Devil’s Highway, which deals with immigrants’ desperate attempts to achieve a better life in this country and the work of the US Border Patrol.  I am only on chapter two, but am thoroughly “hooked.” I am looking forward to reading more on this book this coming week.

Last week I started a unique review of Philosophy 101 in novel form in the YA “classic”, Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaardner.  The introduction to this, the 20th anniversary edition, by the author is enough to stimulate anyone’s curiosity, and the novel itself is extremely engaging. In a week’s time I have read a little over one half of this hefty, thought provoking, mysterious novel. I also began Garth Stein’s (author of Racing in the Rain) A Sudden Light, also a mysterious, somewhat supernatural novel written in 2014. I am only on chapter seven, which is scarcely into the book, as the chapters are pleasantly short.  All of these books are keeping me reading.  I am also continuing with Gary Pegoda’s Who Is Human?  on my Kindle app on my laptop.  I am definitely going to ask for a real Kindle for my birthday coming up, for the glare does not allow me to read for long periods of time.  The story just keeps getting more and more interesting, and although I cannot predict where it is going, I want to keep reading to find out.

We have been turning the house upside down and inside out, placing new furniture and moving pieces from room to room.  Our sixteen year old cat, Lena, is most upset because nothing is where it used to be (except for the granite topped table in the breakfast room and the large dining room table and assorted furniture in the dining room), and she seems somewhat disoriented and confused.  As long as she has her “box”, food and water bowls, and a window next to the window seat to look out of, I think she will be fine.

The PWR ladies met last Sunday (I was too exhausted to do a Sunday (Evening) Post last week because we had such a good time, and although our numbers were small, we had a lovely visit, and we were able to send attendees home with sandwiches for husbands for supper and various baggies full of “snacks” for the coming week.) It was a matter of quality time, and considering that it was Memorial Day Weekend and many had family plans, I was especially pleased.  Everyone took home some books to read, and a couple brought books to loan and magazines for my Bookworm Club (which will meet in July)which we will use to cut up for vocabulary “projects.”

It was a good week, and the week ahead promises to hold many good things as well. I wish the same for you and yours.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

9 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

  1. My goodness, it sounds like a busy week, Rae! Your books, as ever, all sound fascinating. A Sudden Light, in particular, snagged my attention, though the novel about the immigrant’s efforts to achieve a better life for themselves and their families also sounds an engaging read. Installing new furniture is always an undertaking if you’ve been in a house for a while, I hope your cat soon settles down with the new floor plan. We are currently busy working on the garden and trying to show it some love as it has been somewhat neglected the last few years.
    Your book club meeting last Sunday sounds delightful – I hope you have a busy fulfilling week, though knowing you, that’s more or less a given:).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I worked in my flowerbeds too, but with it 85+ degrees after 10 am most days, I almost prefer pulling weeds in the humid days with light rain. At least the weeds are looser and don’t pull back quite as hard. I came back from Lake Jackson, Tx yesterday (Saturday) with ginger, air potatoes, four-o’clocks, and a few other plants to plant along the fence. The woman who gave them to me warned that they would “take over”, but that is exactly what I am hoping for. Our hibiscus (red, hot pink, and yellow) are blooming profusely, and the verbena is taking over the side flower bed. I have ornamental cabbages as big as a big man’s head, and one is so heavy, it is “lying down” but still rooted in the ground. We have Mexican Heather, Mexican Sage, and Butterfly weed which are blooming in both the large side yard and the smaller front yard. Our knockout roses which we planted in honor/memory of my Mother-in-Law has four blooms and a bud in a rosy-rose color, which looks great alongside the pinks and lavenders of the flowers (I don’t know the names) alongside the front of the house. I guess you could say we are “blooming idiots,” all of which I attribute to the days of sunshine and alternating thundershowers. It sometimes feels like a sauna “out there,” but the plants love it. Sometimes the cars will slow down as they pass. I never know if they’re seeing if there’s anything new in the LFL or looking at the plants.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It sounds utterly gorgeous, Rae. Our garden has descended into something of a jungle after a couple of years of neglect – but we are taking steps to retrieve it! I have one of the main beds organised, we are in the process of painting the new garden swing and have replaced the reed screen at the front which is a HUGE improvement. We will get there!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. This morning we planted four o’clocks, laid out air potatoes (beautiful heart shaped leaves) and have several “clumps of ginger to put in whenever. We have kept things in buckets of water since Saturday (Today is Mon.) and the rain keeps filling the buckets to overflowing. I’m not sure if we’re planting the plants or baptizing them!

        Like

    1. And another interesting one came in from the library this morning (Monday) and a friend texted me she was bringing a signed copy of a friend’s book for me from the NY Convention. I’d better quit typing and get to reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

