Medication frustration

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Image result for frustration cartoon child proof

My eyes no longer work too well…
I cannot read small print;
I don’t know where my glasses are
And always have to squint.

My hands, of course, are even worse,
My fingers ache and swell,
Arthritis, past its sell-by date,
Is putting them through hell.

Now factor in an RSI,
Because I type too much,
Then add a dodgy back and stuff…
I wince with every touch.

And so to get some small relief
To bottles, I retreat,
Not gin, though with the child-proof caps
On pills, I’d drink it neat!

It’s age-discrimination
When they proof the pots for kids,
‘Cause when your hands are playing up,
You can’t take off the lids.

Though some pills come all wrapped in foil
That’s fine and dandy, but…
As soon as you begin to rip
The stuff, you end up cut.

So, reaching for the first aid kit
You rummage for…

View original post 156 more words

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

1 thought on “Medication frustration”

Leave a Reply

