TAGGED: I’M IT AGAIN

My blogging friend, James Cudney at This is My Truth Now has started a tag/game where he has posed several questions about one’s reading, looking back over what one has read since January of this year. I am responding to some/most of the prompts he has given.

  1. The best book you have read so far in 2017–That would have to be The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.  It not only made me think; it changed my thinking.
  2. Your favorite sequel this year–Many Waters by Madeline L’Engle a YA novel by children’s author I discovered while teaching sixth graders.
  3. A new release that you haven’t read but really want to–Just about every book reviewed in the Sunday editions of The Houston Chronicle.
  4. Your Biggest Disappointment– The Education of Dixie Dupree.  I’m not sure if I can come up with a reason why.
  5. The Biggest Surprise of the Year–Before We Visit the Goddess by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni.  I found I put everything aside and finished it in two days.  It was that good of a “read.”
  6. I’m going to skip on the questions What is your new fictional crush? (I’m too old to have crushes.) and Who is your new favorite character? (I have met many outstanding characters this year!)
  7. A book that made you cry–Who Said I Was Up for Adoption by Colin Chappell–When I thought Ray (the dog) wasn’t going to make it, I thought, Oh no, another sad-ending dog story.  Thank goodness the book has a happy ending!                                                                      Thank goodness I’ve answered the questions “to the best of my ability,” especially since these are off the top of my head without consulting my reading log which is in the other room and I am too lazy to get up and get. Now–Tag, you’re it!
Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

8 thoughts on “TAGGED: I’M IT AGAIN”

Leave a Reply

