SUNDAY (EVENING) POST

This has been an “off week”, and I took advantage of it by making it a reading week. Tuesday through today (Sunday) my main activity has been reading.

I have finished:

Who Is the Human? by Gary Pegoda — Reviewed recently on this blog.  Good sci-fi action.

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald–Reviewed recently on this blog.

Setting Free the Kites by Alex George–a recent library impulse selection chosen because it was large print and thoroughly enjoyed.  To be reviewed on this blog soon.

The Devil’s Highway by Alberto Urrea–Reviewed recently on this blog.

Continuing to Read:

Set aside temporarily, Garth Stein’s A Sudden Light

My non-fiction attempt to expand my genre preferences, bell hooks’s Feminism is For Everybody: Passionate Politics  I have barely begun, but I feel I should read bel hooks.

A book recommended by a fellow blogger at Brainfluff, The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan
A Kindle Purchase written by a blogging friend Notes from a Small Dog by Ani

Watched:

The rest of the TV series, “Genius”, the story of Albert Einstein’s life and work

Rick Steves’ Europe on PBS, Went to Germany, twice; Scotland; parts of England.  I never get tired of him as a tour guide nor his show.  We often watch during meals since they are only thirty minutes long.

Movie, “The  Magdalene Sisters–brutal! A true story from Ireland.

Next week brings doctor’s visits and a few fun things as well, and of course, LOTS of reading!

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

7 thoughts on “SUNDAY (EVENING) POST”

  1. You can always take along a book for the doctor visits, I think. I was called for jury duty tomorrow and I plan to take along a provocative book, maybe All Day: A Year of Love and Survival Teaching Incarcerated Kids at Rikers Island or Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption. You could take an Atul Gawande book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

