EVERY-OTHER SUNDAY (EVENING) POST

A quick listing,catch-up is all I have time for tonight, for I still have six, five page Argument/Research papers to grade before tomorrow’s 8:00 am class.

What I finished: The Address, a superb second novel by Fiona Davis, which I will review tomorrow or the next day.

Daughter of Time, reviewed recently on this site.

Today’s Sunday Edition of The Houston Chronicle, a reward for all the hard work I’ve done this weekend.

What I am continuing to read:

A wonderful book of poetry, Poetic Rituals, by a blogging friend.  I have shared several of these poems with  my students in those “settling-down-and-getting-ready-to-start-class-for-real” times. (These occur frequently with an 8 o’clock class!)

Our America: A Hispanic History of the United States, which I confess I haven’t touched or opened this week.  High hopes for next week.

What I have begun:

The Leavers (see excerpt on Tuesday’s Teaser) by Lisa Ko

I have spent my time grading each evening, into the night, doing some much needed grocery shopping and some fine meal planning and cooking (and freezing in preparation for the end of the semester (6 days to go!) when I KNOW I won’t have time to cook and will just want to “warm up something.” My Better Half bought a lovely cheese and fruit tray home today.  We added potato salad from the deli and pan-grilled chicken hot dogs, complimented by pita chips, and we had a light, healthy lunch.  We are trying to eat our main meal at noon which is easier on senior citizen digestions and nocturnal early bedtimes.  Five thirty or six o’clock comes mighty early in the mornings.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

5 thoughts on “EVERY-OTHER SUNDAY (EVENING) POST”

  1. You should be close to finished with the semester (I hope!) Time for a bit of rest and relaxation, I think.

    My husband and I are trying to eat lighter at every meal. I’m thinking carefully about everything I eat. Last night, I passed on the potato and went for the green beans. The green beans were amazing (unexpectedly), and I’m glad I did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And we’ve been doing the opposite…have eaten out three times this week! Have you tried the BBQ place on Why 6? BEST EVER, but they sell out by noon. They open at 10:30. Better than Joe’s!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

