NOT-EVERY OTHER SUNDAY (EVENING) POST, BUT A BOOK CHALLENGE

I have just embarked on my first real book challenge, one set by someone else other than myself.  It started much earlier, and as usual, I am late to the starting gate, which will make it even more challenging.  The target date to have it done by is Dec. 31, 2017, and it is a “Color Coded Challenge.” One can either choose a book whose cover is the color mentioned, or one whose title mentions the prescribed color. Here are the books required: blue/red/yellow/green/brown/black/white/one other color not mentioned, a book that “implies” color (like a rainbow etc.) and in order to even it out to ten books (by Dec.31st, remember), I am adding a book by an author of color. Do you think I can do it by Dec. 31st?  I have just finished since the last Every-Other-Sunday (Evening) Post, Wizard and Glass,by Stephen King, which had a pink cover, so I am counting it as “one other color not mentioned.” Also, I have just begun Barkskins by Annie Proulx which has a brown cover, but that is a very ambitious undertaking because the book has 713 pages. Oh well, Dewey’s Twenty-Four Marathon is coming up this month, so that should help. I plan to look  at my TBR shelf soon and choose my colors or titles according to this challenge.  It ought to be fun! If you want to join me, leave a comment in the section below and join in.

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

4 thoughts on “NOT-EVERY OTHER SUNDAY (EVENING) POST, BUT A BOOK CHALLENGE”

  1. I love reading challenges. The challenge I’ve been working on the longest is the 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up challenge. I’m only a bit over half done with it. At this rate, I’ll never grow up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

