Sunday (Evening) Post

Instead of the usual catch-up post this evening, and because I have a backlog of reviews written but not posted, this evening I will review one of my recent reads.

Bitter in the Mouth by Monique Truong: A Review

This 2010 novel brought to my attention the condition of synesthesia, where words bring to mind colors, sounds (often music) etc.  The main character, Linda Hammerick, has this    symptomatic “illness” where words are accompanied by specific tastes in her mouth.  People’s names, words said to her, and words she says, all cause her to taste a flavor in her mouth. Bitter is a coming-of age story, but has a surprise ending and many twists and turns that make it a masterpiece. Jayne Ann Phillips (author of Machine Dreams, which I studied in graduate school and was privileged to hear her “read” and have a Q&A time with in a very small setting ) has said the book is written with a “magical ferocity.” That term would also describe Linda, the protagonist.  Another critic lists these themes covered by the novel: “friendship, loyalty, love, family,;and above all, the mysteries of every corner of one’s history that make us who we are.”

Linda’s great uncle, Harper, whom she loves more than anyone, teaches her how to dance, and accepts and loves her unconditionally.  Kelly, her best girlfriend since the age of eight, deals with weight issues, but is a loyal friend until she has a boyfriend, and then Linda devotes herself to her studies. She receives a scholarship to Columbia University, then after graduation, goes on to practice law in N.Y. All this time, the two girls correspond and keep in touch. A family tragedy forces Linda to return home to Boiling Springs N.C. , where she learns the truth about family secrets, including those about herself.

This award-winning writer has that title for good reason. At first it was difficult to read because most words are followed up what they taste like to Linda. But soon, with patience, the reader is so carried along by the story that he/she too tastes words as they read them, without hindering the progress or understanding of the story.

This was a special book, recommended to me by my grandson, and like me, he was blown away by the story and the author as well. WE recommend you read it.

Author: Rae Longest

This year (2019) finds me with 50 plus years of teaching "under my belt." I have taught all levels from pre-K "(library lady" or "book lady"--volunteer) to juniors, seniors, and graduate students enrolled in my Advanced Writing class at the university where I have just completed 30 years. My first paying teaching job was junior high, and I spent 13 years with ages 12-13, the "difficult years." I had some of the "funnest" experiences with this age group. When I was no longer the "young, fun teacher," I taught in an elementary school setting before sixth graders went on to junior high, teaching language arts blocs, an assignment that was a "dream-fit" for me. After completing graduate school in my 40s, I went on to community college, then university teaching. Just as teaching is "in my blood," so is a passion for reading, writing, libraries, and everything bookish. This blog will be open to anyone who loves books, promotes literacy and wants to "come out and play."

4 thoughts on “Sunday (Evening) Post”

Leave a comment