Hunger games..?

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Tonight, I feast! That was the plan,
The cupboard, though, was bare.
The little ice-box and the fridge?
No, there was nothing there…

I fancied something full of taste
I dish that I could savour,
With only mouldy bread in stock
I sought another flavour.

The dog, of course, is well supplied,
With treat and meat and biscuit,
And though her dinner smelled quite good
I thought I shouldn’t risk it.

The small dog isn’t small at all,
She eats whatever’s going
(And probably some other stuff
I have no way of knowing.)

She eats my food and all her own
With laughing eyes and cheek.
She’s plump and healthy, glossy coat…
In fact, she looks quite sleek….

I took a long look at the dog
But know I couldn’t roast her…*
I’ll cut the green bits off the bread
And shove it in the toaster.

*For a start, she…

View original post 6 more words

Author: Rae Longest

This year, I will have been a member of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for fifty years, a life time member (which means my fellow AAUW members will begin to pay my annual dues. (ha ha) In the 80's we began a book group to share our love of reading, books,and fellowship with other women and girls who loved the same. We resurrected the group on-line in September of 2015 and went on from there (See "Introduction",first blog). This is my first experience at blogging or publishing anything and is becomes more fun with each blog posted. I am currently teaching as an adjunct at The University of Houston Clear Lake. This makes my 27th year there after three years at Alvin Community College and an almost-twenty year career as a classroom teacher with Alvin Independent School District. Reading and writing are "in my blood" just like teaching is. I hope you enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

