UPDATE ON READING MORE NON-FICTION GOAL FOR 2019

One of my reading goals for 2019 was to read more non-fiction. In previous years, I had read novels almost exclusively until my Third Tuesday Book Club began selecting non-fiction books, and beginning with Erik Larson’s books, I found they could be engaging and even fascinating. Here is a list of non-fiction books I have read since January of this year. (They are arranged alphabetically by title. Use the search box to find reviews or mentions of individual titles.)

Afraid of All the Things  (a study of anxieties and worry)

Dove and Sword: Joan of Arc (a YA book dealing with the maid and her vision)

Faces of Oppression and the Price of Justice (written by a colleague describing the harrowing escape from human trafficking of a real woman, and the legal complexities she encountered in applying for asylum)

The Library Book (the story of the horrific fire at the Los Angeles Public Library)

Love Does (the way to live an extraordinary life in an ordinary world)

The Newcomers (a journalistic look at  immigrant newcomers to a Colorado high school and their educational, societal, and legal issues)

Why We Sleep (This one I have just begun, and I am already alarmed at what I have read.)

Worrying (the history of worry and what to do to eliminate it)

Eight so far–and 2019 is only five months old. I think a reasonable goal would be a total of twelve non-fiction books in 2019.

 

 

Author: Rae Longest

This year (2019) finds me with 50 plus years of teaching "under my belt." I have taught all levels from pre-K "(library lady" or "book lady"--volunteer) to juniors, seniors, and graduate students enrolled in my Advanced Writing class at the university where I have just completed 30 years. My first paying teaching job was junior high, and I spent 13 years with ages 12-13, the "difficult years." I had some of the "funnest" experiences with this age group. When I was no longer the "young, fun teacher," I taught in an elementary school setting before sixth graders went on to junior high, teaching language arts blocs, an assignment that was a "dream-fit" for me. After completing graduate school in my 40s, I went on to community college, then university teaching. Just as teaching is "in my blood," so is a passion for reading, writing, libraries, and everything bookish. This blog will be open to anyone who loves books, promotes literacy and wants to "come out and play."

One thought on “UPDATE ON READING MORE NON-FICTION GOAL FOR 2019”

Leave a comment