SUNDAY (EVENING) POST

The PWR Reading Marathon (W-Sun.  morning) and Rae’s Reading Race Sunday afternoon was a success and was the quarterly get together for the PWR’s.  It was hard to schedule a time when all could meet, and interestingly enough, one member of the group who could not attend said, “October is such a busy month.” With November (Thanksgiving) and December (Christmas) holidays coming up, we could not postpone the “event” any longer. (We were already overdue to meet.)

There were six in attendance and enough food to feed twelve or more, but we “made the best of it” by making returns to the food table.  Most of the guests brought books for Rae’s Little Free Library with promises of even more.  We piled all the books together, and some left with as many as four books to add to their TBR stacks. It was an informal, informative and down-right good time.

Personally, between Wednesday and Sunday, I whittled down my TBR stack as follows:

Started and Finished The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak, a young adult novel, reviewed on this blog Sunday morning.

Started and almost finished a delightful cozy mystery, A Wee Murder in My Shop, which my husband’s cousin who is my  book buddy ,sent me.  It will be reviewed soon.

I had to work on something serious, so I managed (in between serious housecleaning and baking for the “party”) to read 24 pages of Train to Crystal City, my Third Tuesday Book Club assignment (due Tuesday–Yikes!) and 41 pages of The True American:Murder and Mayhem in Texas —a loan from a friend who should be getting antsy about its return, but he isn’t because he is a good, patient friend.

I find marathons a helpful way to whittle down that TBR stack and get reading done that wouldn’t have happened without a concentrated effort.  Dewey’s 24 Marathon is coming up next weekend, and I hope to participate in that. I am determined to MAKE TIME for reading, and marathons can make that happen.

What I’m reading now:  The three books mentioned above; the two non-fiction and the cozy mystery

What I’m looking forward to reading next: The Thoughtful Dresser: The Act of Adornment, the Pleasures of Shopping, and Why Clothes Matter   I checked it out from the Alvin Library, and I sure hope it automatically renews!

It’s been a happy week for reading, and although this week promises to be busy (handing back mid-term papers), I hope I can MAKE TIME FOR READING.

Author: Rae Longest

This year (2019) finds me with 50 plus years of teaching "under my belt." I have taught all levels from pre-K "(library lady" or "book lady"--volunteer) to juniors, seniors, and graduate students enrolled in my Advanced Writing class at the university where I have just completed 30 years. My first paying teaching job was junior high, and I spent 13 years with ages 12-13, the "difficult years." I had some of the "funnest" experiences with this age group. When I was no longer the "young, fun teacher," I taught in an elementary school setting before sixth graders went on to junior high, teaching language arts blocs, an assignment that was a "dream-fit" for me. After completing graduate school in my 40s, I went on to community college, then university teaching. Just as teaching is "in my blood," so is a passion for reading, writing, libraries, and everything bookish. This blog will be open to anyone who loves books, promotes literacy and wants to "come out and play."

7 thoughts on “SUNDAY (EVENING) POST”

  1. I’m intrigued to note that you read several books at a time – have you always done so? And what determines when you’ve had enough of one and pick up another, instead? Do you ever read more than one book in a single sitting? (Other than something like a read-a-thon, of course…). Being the ultimate mono-tasker, I only ever read one book at a time, unless I’ve started a book by mistake, when I’ve muddled my reading schedule! I’m glad to hear it all went off so well and sounds like a really enjoyable event, Rae – have a great reading week:)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. What fun questions! Better get a cuppa’ this may be a long reply.
      As a child I devoured a book at a time, usually a book a day, sometimes more. The teacher would allow me to go to the library 1st thing in the morning to turn in books taken home the night before and pick up a chapter book to get me through the free time in class. Then she’d allow me to get something or somethings to read at home that night after supper.
      When I grew up, I became busy, but always made time to read. Now that I have learned to manage time in fractions and sort of multi-task, it has spilled over into my reading habits as well, thus I read two or three books, putting down and picking up. I seem to be able to follow without much re-reading ok.
      Yes, there are can’t-put-downs I have read straight through exclusively, refusing to start or read on anything else until I’d reached the end of that special book.
      We had fun at my house yesterday and it is always fun to meet with friends who love books and reading as much as you do.
      Thanks for taking such an interest. I feel you and I are now “book-buddies.”
      Rae

      Like

    1. I’m reading one book you brought already and have stocked the LFL with the Halloween ones you brought. The cookies you brought are all gone as well. They were delicious, but I can’t imagine where they went to…wink wink!

      Like

  2. Glad the Reading Marathon was a success and everyone was well fed. LOL! I read a few books at the same time and always have an audiobook I am working on. I try to make them all different genres. Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment